Winners of the Nordic Councils awards 2019

Publicerad Wednesday 30 October kl 19:45

The Nordic Council Awards 2019! Unfortunately there were no awards to Åland this time, but the we think that it is a great contribution and a win in itself to be nominated. Many fine spirits were among the nominees and everyone single one is such wonderful inspiratin to many in their fields.

  • The Literature Prize went to Jonas Eika from Denmark
  • The Envorinmental Prize went to Greta Thunberg from Sweden 
  • The Children's and Youth Literature Prize went to Kristin Roskifte from Norway
  • Teh Musicprize went to Gyða Valtýsdóttir from Iceland
  • The Film Prize went to May el-Toukhy, Maren Louise Käehne, Caroline Blanco and René Ezra for the danish movie "Dronningen".

The Nordic Council's prizes has a very important task in highlighting and supporting some of the artistic expressions and inspiring environmental efforts that can be found in our region.

"-It is incredibly gratifying that we  gather to enjoy, and pay tribute to, Nordic culture and, not least, this year's nominees for the five awards," says the President of the Nordic Council Hans Wallmark.

And of course we got to enjoy Nordic culture. But the evening also gave us some very important thoughts. Greta Thunberg, who won the environmental award, declined to accept the Council's environmental award. "-I want to thank the Nordic Council for this award, it's a great honor. But the climate movement does not need any more awards, what we need is for our rulers and politicians to listen to the research," says Greta Thunberg.

Thunberg's commitment is at the forefront of influencing and inspiring an entire generation. It's respectable. There is reason for everyone, also outside the Nordic co-operation, to listen to her and other voices that require action, writes the Nordic Council on thier website. Read more.

The winner of the Literature Award recipient also took the opportunity during the award ceremony evening to critizie of the Danish Prime Minister for Denmark's immigration policy.

We at Nipå would like to say thank you again to all the winners and nominees for all your inspiring efforts in your field of area!

Subscribe to our newsletter